TurboTax Reviews

Show reviews that mention
tax turbo tax taxes refund return money irs tax return account service
Filter review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer

Resolved: TurboTax cost me by notifying me of a calculation error months later

Explore video interviews
TurboTax cost me by notifying me of a calculation error months later
TurboTax cost me by notifying me of a calculation error months later
TurboTax cost me by notifying me of a calculation error months later
TurboTax cost me by notifying me of a calculation error months later
TurboTax cost me by notifying me of a calculation error months later
TurboTax cost me by notifying me of a calculation error months later
Update by user May 31, 2019

TurboTax investigated my claim and could not confirm that I was notified in a timely manner when they discovered their miscalculation in January. They reached out, issued a check payment for the amended taxes due for $711.

I paid the state, and luckily no penalty had been assessed yet. There is no longer a balance due to the state.

Original review posted by user Apr 30, 2019
I filed my 2018 taxes on 1/16/19 using TurboTax FreeFile. They were accepted and the state direct deposited $892 (**** refund) into my checking account on 2/20/19. On 3/20/19, I received an email from TurboTax admitting a calculation error on their part (Oregon Schedule OR-A). They advised me to resubmit my 2018 state taxes. When I submitted the amended return, I then owed $711 that I no longer had since it had been 1 month since the state paid me. I called TurboTax the same day (3/20/19) to get more information as to why the calculation error happened and more importantly, why I was notified so late. Please note that my boyfriend, Korbin Stein, filed his taxes with the TurboTax Free-file on 1/16/19 and received a TurboTax "calculation error" email on 1/31/19 (nearly 2 months prior to my miscalculation email was received). The email advised him that TurboTax made a calculation error and that he would need to resubmit. He resubmitted before the state paid him, so his refund was corrected and he doesn't owe. Both of the error calculation emails we received both mention "Oregon Schedule OR-A", but are worded slightly different and are from 2 different email addresses (his was from IntuitElectronicFilingCenter@***.com; my email was from CustomerResponse@***.turbotax.intuit.com). This confirms these emails were mailed out separately, and I still haven't gotten a reason as to why I wasn't notified within the same timeframe as Korbin Stein. I have these email copies to provide. I called TurboTax back on 4/10/19 and spoke to a Tier I representative (Tamilia) who agreed this was an unusual and a rare occurrence (she had never heard of this before) and that this issue deserved special treatment. She transferred me to a Tier II, Dana (tax support) who advised I be transferred to the Escalations department. I was transferred and spoke with Walter. He reviewed my account remotely and could see the emails I am referring to as well as my 2018 tax filings. He agreed something needed to be done to rectify the multiple errors, promised to review my account further and to call me back by 4/11-4/12 at the latest. He provided me with Case #449-53*-961. He still has not called or emailed me back. I called the evening of 4/12 to follow up and spoke with Tamika. She transferred me to Escalations (Jamija) who submitted a request for one of the presidents to respond to me as there is no higher department I could speak to. She said I would very likely be able to receive the $711 I now owe to the state plus the 5% interest that has been accruing ever since 4/15/19. She provided me an "OOP" reference number of 1162. She said the president ALWAYS responds within 24-48 hours via email or phone. If for some reason they didn't, she advised me to call back and ask for a supervisor. I still have not heard anything from a president. I called back on 4/17/19 and spoke to Jan who transferred me to escalations (Henry). He assured me someone would respond back to me, but I have still not heard anything as of today (4/23/19). I have spent a cumulative of about 5-6 hours on the phone with TurboTax already, and I feel they are not holding up their blatant promises to back their product. Not one of the representatives I have spoken to has been able to tell me why this calculation error occurred, why TurboTax sent notification so late (over 2 months after I filed) or any assurance that this type of issue wouldn't happen again. They fail to return calls and follow up when they promise to. TurboTax "100% guarantees" their calculations - it's stated all over their website. How can customers trust TurboTax when they receive a tax refund? Are they expected to sit on their money until tax day passes? After filing this complaint with the BBB, I miraculously received a call on 4/29/19 from someone named Sheryl from the president's office (not an actual president, as previously promised). She thought I had already spoken to someone in the office named Ben (what internal communication!), but I assured her that no one had reached out to me via email or phone. She tried to blame the state for the late notice (I corrected her, letting her know of TurboTax's email to Korbin on 1/31), then she tried to say my email went to spam (I corrected her, saying I saw it go straight to my inbox on 3/20/19 and called TurboTax the same day). I reiterated that the 2 emails were from separate TurboTax senders and my email was received right away in my inbox on 3/20/19. She could neither confirm or deny that she was calling 1) in response to the BBB complaint I filed and 2) that this situation is a rare, unique circumstance (which should be regarded as such). She clearly did not read all the facts or consider them before calling me. You would think after a customer has spent hours on the phone explaining an issue over and over again, she would have the decency to READ any of TurboTax's internal notes and this BBB complaint. She thought it very unlikely TurboTax would be willing to fully reimburse me due to their policy of only reimbursing penalties or fees up to the first notice (what about your 100% calculation guarantee?). All she could offer were her apologies that customer service never responded to me as promised, and she was not able to provide any real resolution or answers to my questions. She said she would investigate further, but I seriously doubt any willing response back from TurboTax.
View full review
Resolved Featured
ID
#1525121 Review #1525121 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Turbotax Tax Software
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$747

Horrible Service

Could not get to a representative. Had to spell out my email 3 times in which the robot repeated it back a million different letters each time before I finally got hung up on! Will not be using turbo tax any longer. Nothing but issues.

User's recommendation: Don’t use TurboTax.

View full review
ID
#3114942 Review #3114942 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Willowbrook, Illinois
New Reviewer

About a Green Dot card

A green Dot card went to an address where I've never lived at and I'm trying to find out what can I do to retrieve it
View full review
ID
#3113863 Review #3113863 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Didnt get my return
  • Not able to recover past reports in full
Preferred solution
Find out how or why was the money from the government was issued on a green Dot card to an address I never lived at
New Reviewer

I need help with 2020 taxes

i need help i have spoken with a rep to no resolve I am thinking of never going with turbo tax again after years of using dont

User's recommendation: Dont buy turbo tax.

View full review
ID
#3112046 Review #3112046 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ukiah, California
Pros
  • I cant think of any unless you have a basic return
Cons
  • No support what so ever all phone nmbers dont work
Loss
$100
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Cannot login

Cannot access old account And does not have the old phone number to use to login With can I get some help
View full review
ID
#3111317 Review #3111317 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Anderson, South Carolina

The Supervisor denied my request to speak with a manager

She stated she couldn't fine my information which I believe to be a lie if she was a supervisor and she refused to refund my money telling me to call my bank after sending my funds where ever they chose to it's not fair that I have to lose my money because they made a mistake.

User's recommendation: All agent are not good ones be aware of the ones that look for problems that are not even there.

View full review
ID
#3110568 Review #3110568 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Oakland, California

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Taxes

I've been trying to get back into my account and have been for months and did my I'd verification many times even tired to do the account recovery many times and same results and still can't get in the account

User's recommendation: Anywhere but turbo tax.

View full review
ID
#3108895 Review #3108895 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tampa, Florida

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

My taxes

It's even almost 9moñths for 600.. í dóñt ów³ taxes what's the hold up ón my money I'm not tryna to b a *** but it's been forever
View full review
ID
#3107901 Review #3107901 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York
New Reviewer

Never received tax refund

I sent numerous emails and made numerous calls trying to get help recovering my money..... Never was able to talk to anyone; I guess I'll hide another company to help those of us that aren't good at filling taxes don't waste your time find a

User's recommendation: Find a company that's going to truly help you, TurboTax won't.

View full review
ID
#3106689 Review #3106689 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Never resolving the issue
  • Spending an hour on the phone with zero resolution
Loss
$736
Preferred solution
Full refund

Still haven't received my refund

Never received any my refund can't not figure how to contact someone from TurboTax who can help me get my refund
View full review
ID
#3103952 Review #3103952 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
New Reviewer

Never received my unemployment tax refund

Update by user Nov 28, 2021

It hasn't

Original review posted by user Nov 28, 2021
My Name is. Amber Maynard. I haven't received my unemployment tax refund yet but I've gotten a email saying TurboTax has received payment for my taxes be filled. but I need to speak to a real customer service person by phone can someone from turbo tax plz call me at. 1- 93*-***-**** as soon as convenient on the next business day please. Thank you an God Bless
View full review
ID
#3103598 Review #3103598 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • No live person
  • No pros
Cons
  • No associate
Preferred solution
Full refund

Cannot log on

I am simply trying to log on to your website to update my credit card number and it is impossible. I will try calling again next week.
View full review
ID
#3100984 Review #3100984 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Loveland, Colorado

Problems downloading

Never could completely download and have asked for my money back. They used to be really dood,not sure what hapoened.
View full review
ID
#3089818 Review #3089818 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Wyoming, Michigan

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Help with taxes

TurboTax - Help with taxes
TurboTax - Help with taxes
I firmly recommend that someone get involved with my situation because I haven't received my taxes yet! I filed my taxes with turbotax the beginning of this year still no refund!

User's recommendation: Smh.

View full review
ID
#3089368 Review #3089368 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Sent me a letter saying IRS REJECTED MY TAXES THAT WAS WAS DONE THROUGH TURBO TAX IN MAY

Can't retrieve my tax info from turbo tax to see why my taxes were rejected by the IRS would someone tell me how to retrieve my info from turbo tax Angela Ligon is my name
View full review
ID
#3084318 Review #3084318 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Milton, Florida

My refund

I never received my refund or my stimulus, please contact me I need someone to call me I went through u guys on both and children charlesstewert37@***.com
View full review
ID
#3080694 Review #3080694 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article